Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
QUARANTINE BLOCK - 4e
2 avril 2020

CORRECTION TIME - Simple ou Progressif

HELLO!

What's up?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W16qzZ7J5YQ

 

It's CORRECTION TIME ! #correctionthursday (We need (avoir besoin) a better (meilleur) hashtag...)

 

Take a pen and correct your work!

 

A – LE PRETERIT SIMPLE & PROGRESSIF

Exercise : Complète avec le prétérit simple ou le prétérit progressif.

  1. I was watching (watch) the road outside when I saw (see) a car.

    > J'étais en train de regarder la route dehors quand j'ai vu une car.

  2. Last week, I did (do) not (didn't) leave my flat.

    > La semaine dernière je ne suis pas sortie de mon appartement. (did not = didn't. Bien joué à ceux qui ont préféré écrire « didn't » directement!)

  3. I talked (talk) to my mother on the phone, yesterday. She was teleworking (telework).

    > J'ai parlé à ma mère au téléphone, hier. Elle était en train de télétravailler.

  4. When I called (call) my uncle, he was eating (eat).

    > Quand j'ai appelé mon oncle, il était en train de manger.

 

 

 

B - NOW... FIND EXAMPLES IN A TEXT.

 

On April 4th, 1968, Martin Luther King was standing on the balcony of his motel room, when suddenly a rifle shot rang in the air. The shot hit him and he fell backwards on the ground.

 

His friends called an ambulance which arrived quickly. Martin Luther King was transported to the nearest hospital where he died at 7:05 p.m.

 

Witnesses saw a man who was running away from the crime scene.

Police found a rifle near the motel and there were fingerprints on the gun. A manhunt started. Police were looking for the owner of the rifle, James Earl Ray. He was arrested in London, in June 1968.

 

mlk

1. Dans ce texte, relève les verbes au prétérit simple et les verbes au prétérit progressif.

 

PRETERIT SIMPLE

PRETERIT PROGRESSIF

Rang

Hit

Fell

Called

Arrived

was (transported)

died

saw

Found

Were

Started

was (arrested)

Was standing

Was running

Were looking

 

2. Pourquoi ai-je utilisé le prétérit progressif dans cette phrase « MLK was standing on the balcony. » ?
J'ai utilisé le prétérit progressif, parce que je décris la situation : Martin Luther King se tenait sur le balcon. Il était en train de se tenir sur le balcon.

3. Pourquoi ai-je utilisé le prétérit simple dans cette phrase « a rifle shot rang in the air » ?
La situation décrite avec le prétérit progressive est ensuite interrompue par une action brève. J'utilise le prétérit simple pour la décrire : un coup de feu a retenti dans l'air.

 

C - NOW.... USE THE PRETERIT !

 

Tell me about your life under quarantine. It's been more than two weeks since I saw you, last. (// Racontez moi votre vie de confinement. Ça fait plus de deux semaines que je vous ai vu la dernière fois.)

What did you do during these last two weeks ? Where were you when you learnt about the full quarantine ?... (// qu'avez vous fait pendant ces deux dernières semaines ? Où étiez vous quand vous avez appris le confinement complet ?...)

 

My confinement started on the 6th of March. I was not feeling well for more than a week. I probably had the Coronavirus but I survived. I was taking painkillers and I was drinking a lot of soup when I started getting better!

 

I think I was watching a movie, when the president announced the full confinement of the country (shelter-in-place order). I was not surprised. I was just waiting for it.

 

I went outside three times since the complete confinement. I went grocery shopping, yesterday. But most of the time, I stay inside with my cats and my computer. I am waiting for student's questions all day.

 

I think I watched 10 movies and many episodes. I sewed myself a few clothes and a mask. I am reading a book about language, right now.

 

NOTICE how I used the present progressive, too.

Le présent progressif me sert pour décrire ce que je fais tous les jours de ce confinement : j'attends vos questions et je lis. // Comme si j'étais coincée dans une photo. Bloquée est incapable d'arrêter mon action.

 

Well... Have a great end of the week.

 

I will write to you on Monday.

(^ vous le voyez le futur là?)

 

Wash your hands.

Be nice to your parents.

 

Miss Léon

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
QUARANTINE BLOCK - 4e
Publicité
CLASSE VIRTUELLE
LUNDI 15h-16h
Publicité